Friendship with God

Road-at-autumn-wallpaper-500x312

There is tremendous relief in knowing that His love to me is utterly realistic, based at every point on prior knowledge of the worst about me, so that no discovery can disillusion Him about me, in the way I am so often disillusioned about myself, and quench His determination to bless me. There is, certainly, great cause for humility in the thought that He sees all the twisted things about me that my fellow-men do not see (and I am glad!), and that He sees more corruption in me than that which I see in myself (which, in all conscience, is enough).

There is, however, equally great incentive to worship and love God in the thought that, for some unfathomable reason, He wants me as His friend, and desires to be my friend, and has given His Son to die for me in order to realize this purpose.

–James I. Packer
Knowing God

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jorgeschulz.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/friendship-with-god-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

