When blessing runs wild

Giza_011

When the camel you’re riding runs wild, nothing will stop it. You cling to its neck. You wrench at its beard and long lip. You cry into its soft ear for mercy. You threaten vengeance. Either you hurl yourself to death from its pitching back or you ride out its madness to the end. It was not I who ran off with my father’s blessing. It was my father’s blessing that ran off with me. Often since then I have cried for mercy with sand in my teeth…The blessing will take me where it will take me. It is beautiful and it is appalling. It races through the barren hills to an end of its own.

–Frederick Buechner
The Son of Laughter

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jorgeschulz.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/when-blessing-runs-wild/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

